Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born.  The care and education offered by Launton Playgroup helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are right for their age and stage of development.

For children between the ages of 3 and 5 years, the Playgroup provides a curriculum for the foundation stage of education as published by the Department for Education in a document called Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage.

* The guidance divides children's learning and development into seven areas:

* Personal,Social and Emotional Development;

* Physical Development;

* Communication and Language

* Litaeracy;

* Mathematics;

* Understanding The World;

* Expressive Arts & Design;

For each early learning goal, the guidance sets out stepping stones, which describe the stages though which children are likely to pass as they move to achievement of the goal.  Launton Playgroup uses the early learning goals and their stepping stones to help us to trace each child's progress and to enable us to provide the right activities to help all of the children move towards achievement of the early learning goals.